Group Training 2017 Awards

Apprentice Employment Network WA (AENWA) has announced the winners of the 2017 Awards of Excellence. The Awards of Excellence recognises the achievements of apprentices and trainees that are employed by a Group Training Organisation (GTO) in Western Australia and the Host Employers who support them through group training.

The evening was celebrated by over 130 people consisting of finalists, guests, industry representatives and
Members of Parliament. Chairman Stuart Diepeveen said “Group Training is unique by the fact that the apprentice or trainee is employed
by the Group Training Organisation who organises a range of services including training, induction and mentoring with on-the job training and support provided by host employers. “The independent panel of judges had a challenging task in selecting the winners of each category as the level of submissions was very high. It was great to see a cross section of industry was present to celebrate, network and promote the group training model in the state.”

Ms Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA, Member for Morley and Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier, represented the Minister for Education and Training the Hon. Sue Ellery MLC, and presented finalists with their certificates
and trophies.


2017 School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year
Reese Strickland, Certificate II in Business, Health Training Australia Inc
Sponsored by AMA Apprenticeship & Traineeship Services

2017 Indigenous Apprentice/Trainee of the Year
Shontai Farrant, Certificate II in Hospitality, The Apprentice and Traineeship Company
Sponsored by National Apprentice Employment Network Ltd

2017 Host Employer of the Year
Master Cabinets, The Apprentice and Traineeship Company
Sponsored by Woodside Energy Ltd

2017 Trainee of the Year
Elizabeth Gaffney, Certificate III in Business, The Apprentice and Traineeship Company
Sponsored by AustralianSuper

2017 Apprentice of the Year
Tineal McClure, Certificate III in Stonemasonry, The Apprentice and Traineeship Company
Sponsored by AustralianSuper


FlatPacks WA
Premium Stone
CabMaster Software
Farnese Masterwood
Silverline Cabinets
Biesse Australia
Wilson & Bradley
Wood Tech Group
Leitz Tooling
AMG Interiors
Surteco Australia
Blum Australia